our story

Trinity Lutheran Church began its ministry on Easter Sunday, April 16, 1933. This small congregation carried on its worship and Sunday School in Tyler's Public Library until 1942, when the first church building was dedicated at South Robertson and Lindsey Lane. In 1947 a building was moved from Camp Fannin to the church site to serve as the parish hall. Also in 1947, a four-classroom school building was erected.

In 1951, Trinity Day School was started with the forming of a kindergarten. In December 1968, the congregation purchased a 10-acre tract of land in Southeast Tyler and began plans to relocate. The present church and Early Childhood Ministry buildings enclosing approximately 18,000 square feet were dedicated to the glory of God on October 7, 1973. In 1994, a 17,300 square foot addition was made to the original structure, including a gymnasium, commercial-quality kitchen, and additional classrooms.

Trinity congregation is affiliated with the International Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod. Lutherans receive their name from the 16th century reformer Martin Luther. The Lutheran Church is the largest Protestant body in the world, and the third largest in the United States.

We believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God and Savior of the world, and that he died and rose again to pay for the sins of all. This Jesus invites you into a living, vibrant relationship as His disciple.